Chapter Eleven:

Daisy

 

Days had passed since Jordyn and I found out about my powers. 

I had done a good job keeping it a secret. Whenever in the conversation the matter would occur, I would immediately change the subject, ensuring the safety of my kingdom. My kingdom means the world to me. I don’t want anything to happen to it. 

Finn

Finn means the world to me. 

The memory of the lightning strike from the sky was forever engraved in my mind. Its purple-and-white streaks cracked into the ground like a whip. The thunder still echoed in my ears, so much so that I would think it was raining outside. It never was. It was an illusion of my own making. 

I discovered later on my own that I could do much more than making it storm. Jordyn had loaned me the book for me to discover more on my own. The bolt of lightning was the weakest of my abilities. Turns out in Jordyn’s book, my mother could make meteors fall from the sky at her command. I was eager to test it out, but I decided against it. I could only imagine the attention it would get. 

Not the attention most people would seek. 

The book had gone into more detail than Jordyn read. At least, I don’t think she read that much of the volume. As the pages continued, there was much more of a variety of what I could do at the simple snap of my fingers. 

My mother defeated Wunait firsthand by making an earthquake occurred with the flick of her wrist. Wunait was traumatized by the events, not knowing how it happened. That’s why they didn’t return until my mother died. They had an extra advantage. They don’t anymore. They have me now. I can only imagine an invader coming into the kingdom, then with the snap of my fingers, meteors would rain over them, igniting them into an eternal flame. I wouldn’t flinch. 

At least, I hope not. 

But even thinking about it made me flinch. 

Finn and I made a morning routine. Every day when the sun rises we take walks in the forest, surrounding myself in my beloved periwinkle trees. Now, their leaves seemed brighter than usual. The hue of purple was blatant like the night sky. 

Our hands were interlaced, his tan, callused palm held my navy-colored gloved one. It was officially winter, the white blanket covering the ground proved so. My servants provided me an overcoat to wear with my gown. I thanked them greatly, seeing as if it weren’t to happen I would perish in this weather. 

I obviously had not told Finn about my abilities. Even he was forbidden to know. His purple mane was cut recently, making him look more like an adult. He had also shaved the stubble he considered a beard. Finn wore an overcoat as well, along with another white tunic and beige slacks. It made him still look accustomed to his voyager lifestyle. 

“Has anything interesting happened lately, Flower?” Finn asked idly. 

“No,” I immediately replied. My voice did not waver one bit. I have had to tell this lie for a while now, it’s becoming instinct. “What about you?”

His own question seemed to toss my confidant sideways. Finn stared at the ground as we continued walking, the snow crunching beneath our feet. He looked up after a few stoic moments while blowing warm air into his bare hands. 

“Oh, you know, nothing as usual.”

I nodded in his direction, mirroring his movements. Snowflakes fell idly from the sky, landing in my purple curls. I didn’t bother to shake them out of my hair, I liked the gentle feeling of fragments of ice touching my scalp. 

The pair of us walked in complete silence. The only sound was the sound of the snow being crushed by the weight of my shoes. I felt as if there was something he wasn’t telling me. The tone of his voice seems different than usual. 

“Are you sure there isn’t something you did?”

He looked at me, alarmed. Finn’s yellow eyes looked darker today. “What do you…?” 

“I meant anything interesting,” I finished for him, cutting off his sputtering. 

“Oh,” he said, relaxing his gaze. Finn stared at the ground and cleared his throat. “like I said, nothing.”

 

When we returned to the castle, Finn led me to the door. We stopped in front of the entryway, he held my hands in his. Our eyes locked like TJ and Jordyn’s. Snow fell from the roof all around, blanketing the ground. 

“I had a wonderful time today, Flower,” he said. 

I smiled idly. “Me too,”

Finn kissed me quickly. Then, he walked back in the direction of the village of Woodhurst.

 I opened the grand doors and made my way inside the castle and climbed up the stairs to my chambers. The climb felt longer than usual, I don’t if it was because of the weariness of the weather or if I was simply tired. Once I reached my chambers, I slowly opened the door, ready to collapse, only to find something forbidding me to do so. 

There was a piece of paper lying on my bed. I grabbed the parchment in my hands, folding it open carefully. 

Dearest Daisy, 

 

I’m sorry to tell you this over a letter, but I could not do this face-to-face. I’m afraid that I am going to be gone for quite some time. I can’t tell you anything specific or where I am going, but I needed to tell you this because you are my closest confidante. I have never personally known any queens throughout my life, but you are the best one I have ever got to know. 

Finn does not know about this, so please tell him for me. Stay together. Don’t think I didn’t notice anything more between you two. I wish that you both live the grandest life together. 

 

May we meet again, 

 

Flynn

 

My breathing became shallow so I could hold back my tears. They came anyway, water soaking through the tiny scrap of paper. I cupped my hand over my mouth, my tears only drenching the fabric as well. 

“Where are you going?” I whispered to myself. 

“I don’t know.”

I whirled around, only to find an all too familiar person. The last person I wanted to see, especially right now. 

TJ stood in the doorway, looking just as saddened as I am. He did not wear Nixian garb, instead, he wore jeans and his neon green hoodie he wore the day we came into this world. His chestnut brown hair was messy instead of kept back like his fiancée liked. 

“What are you doing here?” I asked, my voice wavering through my quiet sob. 

He stepped forward, hands in his pockets as he stared at the creaking floor. “I have something to tell you.”

“Is it an apology?”

“It’s about Finn.”

I sniffled, wiping the tears off my dark skin. “What?”

TJ looked up at me, his green irises looking into my icy blue. He unstuffed his hands and placed them at his sides. He stared at me for a moment, then carried on. He jutted his chin in the direction of the wall behind me. 

“See that knife?” he asked. “Your boyfriend tried to throw it at me.”

I whirled around and saw the weapon sticking into the fine plaster. I grabbed it by the handle, yanking the dagger out. The sun exposed through the window shone off the sharp metal. I gazed at my reflection once I tilted it the other way. I looked like I had been crying – which was true. It was evident on my face from the smudged makeup and my cheeks still stained with water. 

I shook my head slowly. “No,” I said. “Finn wouldn’t try to harm someone. He’s peaceful.”

“Do you think I’m lying, Doc?”

I didn’t know what to believe. It did not sound like Finn to try and stab someone with a knife, nonetheless, it would not be TJ who he would try to harm. Through our months together, Finn never mentioned anything violent. He was the nicest and most genuine person I have ever met. Unlike my former best friend accusing him of attempted murder. 

I love Finn. TJ’s not going to change that. 

“I don’t believe you,” I force out. 

TJ stared at me for a moment. Then, he walked toward me and grabbed my hand. I was startled by the gesture, but yet, I didn’t back away. 

“You don’t believe me, fine,” he whispered. “I’ll let you find out yourself.”

“What do you…?”

TJ led me out of the castle before I got a chance to finish. We ran through the village, he still had a hold of my gloved hand. I didn’t have the ability to lift my dress up as we sprinted along the dirt pathway, tarnish gathering around the hems of my gown. 

We didn’t make eye contact the whole time. TJ seemed different than usual. He looked…sad. It was as if a part of him was taken away. Not to mention he changed his wardrobe completely. All the villagers probably thought him to be outlandish. 

We reached Finn’s family home, but then, for some reason, we went past it. 

Instead, we walked straight into the woods. 

“TJ!” I yelled. He did not turn around. 

I gritted my teeth together. 

“Tobias John Jones!”

Now, he turned around and faced me. Slowly, he released a grip on my hand as he trailed it back to his side. TJ stared at the ground at his worn-out tennis shoes. The wind was cold, not to mention the snow blanketing the grass. TJ and I left the castle and I did not bring an overcoat. 

“Where…are you taking me?” I breathed. 

“To your idiot boyfriend.”

“We’re in the woods, TJ!”

I didn’t mean to snap at him, but this situation was foolish. TJ was trying to convince me that Finn was attempting violence. Tobias John was full of it. I did not believe him. There was nothing that would make me believe him. After our recent events, I would be ashamed to say I had loved him at some point. 

There is no love there anymore. 

Nothing but a piece of black and ash connected to my heart. 

Even if Finn did throw a knife at him, what did TJ do to make him mad enough to use weapons? There was nothing else he could be accused of. Unless TJ was purposely not telling me something. I hoped not, but we have been keeping secrets for a while now. 

“You want to know why I’m taking you out here in the woods?” TJ asked, obviously irritated. “I’m trying to show you that Finn is working with Wunait!”

“Finn isn’t-”

Before I could yell at him, TJ clamped his hand over my mouth. He brought me behind a large tree. The two of us crouched down beside the wide, periwinkle, stump. I tried to speak again but he shushed me. TJ jutted his chin in front of us and I gazed out on the horizon. 

Finn was walking out in the grass. 

And he was meeting with someone. 

Someone in a long dark cloak. 

It was a Wunait guard. 

I screamed, but TJ covered my mouth again. Instead came out a tiny, high-pitched squeak. Finn turned around but didn’t notice. The pair of them stood parallel to each other like this was an arranged meeting. It most likely is. 

“You’re late,” I heard the Wunait guard say. 

“I had some…business to attend to,” Finn replied. “Are the battalion still coming at sunrise?”

The guard nodded. 

“Good, I can’t wait to watch this kingdom and their idiotic queen burn.”

The two of them abruptly parted ways, their meeting ending quickly. The guard walked into the sunset, his feet crunching beneath the snow. Finn’s purple hair whirled in the wind, snowflakes gathering in his mane. 

TJ was right. Finn was working with Wunait. 

Questions swirled through my brain. Did Finn know of my family? Does he know that Emperor Cyprian is my grandfather? Does he know that I’m part-Wunait? I was overwhelmed, my vision became starry. I started to get up and walk toward Finn, but TJ held me down, his hand strongly gripped on my arm. 

TJ shook his head. Don’t do it, he mouthed.

I rattled his hand off my forearm and sprinted toward Finn. 

“Flower!” he exclaimed. “What are you doing here?”

“What are you doing?” I snapped. “Why were you talking with that guard?”

Finn sighed, acting as if he was traumatized. Then, his expression turned wicked. Finn began to clap slowly. “It’s about time you figured it out, Flower.”

“Don’t call me that,” I scowled. “I thought you loved me.”

“Love isn’t real.”

His remark angered me. He thinks love isn’t real. I loved him. I thought Finn loved me too, but I guess not. I know for a fact that love is real, TJ and Jordyn are in love. They are the idealization of love. I loved Tobias John. Maybe I still do. 

I know that I don’t love Finn anymore. 

That was fake. 

I slapped Finn across the face, making his face turn sideways. Finn rubbed the side of his cheek in an attempt to recover. 

“Love is real, Finn. I know that firsthand.”

Finn ignored me and began walking deeper into the forest. He waved his hand behind, seeming manic. His purple hair is still covered with snowflakes. Even when it’s snowing, Finneas Claudius shows no weakness. How fitting. 

“I’d evacuate the kingdom if I were you, my love,” he called. “Your family is coming for a reunion.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *